Judicial Award

This award commends judges for their service to and on behalf of the civil bar, the legal profession, and the public. It was established to recognize judges who have demonstrated the highest standards of judicial excellence in the pursuit of justice, while exemplifying courtesy, integrity, wisdom, and impartiality. It is awarded to judges who best exemplify that which brings honor, esteem, and respect to the practice of law.

2019 Recipient

Judge Denise Langford Morris
6th Circuit Court

Governor Rick Snyder appointed the Honorable Michael J. Riordan to the Michigan Court of Appeals on March 16, 2012 and he was elected to a six-year term commencing January 1, 2013. Previously, Judge Riordan worked as an Assistant United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Michigan; as an Assistant General Counsel for the Northwestern Mutual Financial Network; and as a Senior Attorney in the Enforcement Division of the United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Upon his graduation from law school, Judge Riordan served a two-year clerkship to the Honorable Robert E. DeMascio, United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan. Judge Riordan serves as a professor of securities regulation and business organizations at the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law and was elected Adjunct Professor of the Year in 2010. Judge Riordan has been a member of the State Bar of Michigan’s Board of Commissioners since 2006. He is a member of the Federalist Society, is a past-president of the Michigan Lawyers Chapter and now serves on its board of advisors. He is the immediate past-president of the Federal Bar Association of the Eastern District of Michigan and is a past-president of the Incorporated Society of Irish-American Lawyers. He is vice-president of the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law Alumni Association and is on the board of the Catholic Lawyers Society. Judge Riordan received his BA from Michigan State University and his JD, cum laude, from the University of Detroit School of Law.

Previous Recipients

2018 Judge Michael J. Riordan, Michigan Court of Appeals

2017 Judge Nanci J. Grant, Oakland County Circuit Court

2017 Judge Robert J. Colombo, 3rd District Court

2015 Judge Joseph J. Farah

2014 Judge Joseph G. Scoville, Western District of Michigan

2013 Judge Christopher M. Murray, Michigan Court of Appeals

2012 Justice Marilyn Kelly

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation.

This information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

© 2019 MDTC. All Rights Reserved.