Excellence In Defense Award

Nomination Form

Established in 1992, the Annual Michigan Defense Trial Counsel (MDTC) "Excellence in Defense Award" is designed to honor those civil defense counsel who have over a number of years through their professionalism, intelligence, creativity, judgment, personality, sensitivity, civility, advocacy skills, community involvement and efforts to educate younger attorneys, promoted the practice of the defense bar and the representation of their clients both in and outside of the courtroom. It also recognizes contributions beyond their normal roles as an advocate.

2017 Recipient

Scott Mandel

Foster Swift Collins & Smith PC

Previous Recipients

* deceased
+ Award posthumously

1993 Robert E. Rutt, Plunkett & Cooney, P.C. *

1993 Richard G. Smith, Smith & Martin, P.C. *

1994 Richard B. Baxter, Dykema Gossett *

1994 John E. S. Scott, Dickinson Wright *

1995 Earl J. Cline, Cline, Cline & Griffin, P.C. *

1995 David Coey, Dickinson Wright PLLC

1996 John D. Peacock *

1997 L. Roland Roegge, Smith, Haughey, Rice & Roegge

1998 John L. Collins, Foster, Swift, Collins & Smith PC *

1999 William D. Booth, Plunkett & Cooney, P.C.

1999 John W. McGraw, McGraw, Martin & Heyn P.C.

2000 D.J. Watters, Plunkett & Cooney, P.C.*

2001 Robert S. Krause, Dickinson Wright, P.L.L.C.

2002 William W. Jack, Jr., Smith, Haughey, Rice, & Roegge

2003 James R. Kohl, James R. Kohl P.C.

2004 John P. Jacobs, John P. Jacobs P.C.

2005 Webb A. Smith, Foster, Swift, Collins & Smith PC

2006 Richard G. Leonard, Rhoades McKee P.C.

2006 Charles C. Collison, Sr, Collison & Collison P.C.

2007 Lawrence G. Campbell, Dickinson Wright P.L.L.C.

2008 J. Michael Fordney, Fordney & Coffeey

2008 Walter P. Griffin, Cline, Cline & Griffin P.C.

2009 James E. Lozier, Dickinson Wright P.L.L.C.

2010 Peter L. Dunlap, Fraser Trebilcock Davis & Dunlap P.C.

2010 Edward M. Kronk, Butzel Long

2011 James N. Martin, Martin, Bacon & Martin, P.C.

2011 +Jonathan E. Martin, Martin, Bacon & Martin, P.C.

2012 Brian D. Einhorn , Collins, Einhorn, Farrell & Ulanoff P.C.

2013 Kathleen Lang and Steve Galbraith

2014 Robert P. Siemion, Siemion Huckabay, P.C.

2015 James P. Feeney - Dykema Gossett PLLC

2015 Thomas W. Cranmer - Miller Canfield Paddock

2016 J. Brian MacDonald - Cline & Griffin PC

2016 Ralph F. Valitutti - Kitch Drutchas Wagner Valituutti & Sherbrook

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation.

This information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

© 2017 MDTC. All Rights Reserved.